Francis E. Marchlinski, MD, FHRS

Francis E. Marchlinski, MD, FHRS

Dr. Marchlinski is the Richard T and Angela Clark President’s Distinguished Professor of Medicine at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania and the Director of Electrophysiology at the University of Pennsylvania Health Care System. 

Dr. Marchlinski is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania Medical School. He completed his postdoctoral internal medicine residency and cardiology/electrophysiology fellowship training at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania.  

For over thirty years Dr. Marchlinski has remained at the cutting edge of cardiac rhythm management. He has authored or co-authored over 550 original scientific articles and over 200 book chapters/reviews/editorials on a variety of topics in cardiac electrophysiology. His EP team at Penn has worked to successfully improve localizing and ablation techniques for the treatment of both atrial fibrillation and ventricular tachycardia and optimize device therapy for treating heart failure and preventing sudden cardiac death. 

Dr. Marchlinski has served on the International Heart Rhythm Society Committee to establish guidelines for the treatment of atrial fibrillation and ventricular tachycardia using catheter ablation techniques. He has been the recipient of the Luigi Mastroianni Clinical Innovator Award, the Venice Arrhythmia Distinguished Scientist Award and the ACTS Distinguished Investigator Award—Career Achievement—Translation from Early Clinical Use to Applicability for Widespread Clinical Practice.

Dr. Marchlinski is on the editorial board of Circulation, Arrhythmias and Electrophysiology, American Journal of Cardiology, Heart Rhythm Journal, Journal of Cardiovascular Electrophysiology, Journal of Interventional Cardiac Electrophysiology, and JACC Electrophysiology and is the Arrhythmia Section Editor for Journal of the American College of Cardiology. Dr. Marchlinski has organized and directed multiple fellowship training courses, regional and international EP symposia, and has received numerous teaching awards at the University of Pennsylvania.

He was the 2020 recipient of the Eric N. Prystowsky Advocate for Patients Award from